EDITORIAL

The 2020 Arthur R. Frechette Awards Competition of the IADR Prosthodontics Group

ike many other events, this year's annual meeting of the International Association for Dental Research (IADR) was cancelled as a consequence of the current COVID-19 pandemic. Nevertheless, the 2020 Frechette Awards competition took place. The Arthur R. Frechette Awards are an annual research competition for new investigators sponsored by the Prosthodontics Group of the IADR to honor the memory of Arthur R. Frechette, who served as Secretary-Treasurer of the IADR from 1968 to 1977. The winners of the 2019 competition were reported in last year's issue 5, and, as it is one of the main goals of the IJP to support timely research and new researchers, we will continue to include the latest news and information on the winners in the future.

Unlike other years, the winners of this year's awards were decided based on their submitted manuscripts. The winners were Dr Bruna Egumi Nagay, Piracicaba Dental School, University of Campinas, Brazil, for "Biofilm-Targeting Superhydrophobic Coating Reduces Microbial Accumulation on Titanium Surface"; and Dr Phoonsuk Limraksasin, Tohoku University Graduate School of Dentistry, Sendai, Japan, for "Deferoxamine Induces Self-Organized Osteo-Chondrogenic Differentiation of Induced Pluripotent Stem Cells" (Fig 1).

New prosthodontics investigators are encouraged to apply for one of the two 2021 awards. Researchers carrying out original research are eligible for a Frechette Award if they have been the primary author of no more than three articles published in refereed dental journals. Each award recognizes original research by new investigators and is sponsored by the Prosthodontics Group of the IADR and supported by the Whip Mix Corporation. One award is for prosthodontic research undertaken with a materials science– or bioengineering-oriented protocol, and the other is for prosthodontic research undertaken with a biologic sciences– or tissue engineering–oriented protocol. The awards carry a cash prize of \$1,000 each.

Research submitted for the IADR meeting in Boston, Massachusetts, is eligible for consideration for the Frechette Award, provided it has not been published elsewhere or will not be under consideration for another award. Abstracts must be submitted to the Prosthodontics Group of the IADR by the IADR deadline, with the appropriate boxes on the online submission checked.

The abstracts will be judged for (1) originality and scientific design of the investigation; (2) suitability of the methods of analysis; and (3) scientific value of the work. Selected finalists will be judged at the 2021 IADR





Fig 1 The 2020 Arthur R. Frechette Awards winners pictured with their mentors: Dr Bruna Egumi Nagay with Dr Valentim Adelino Ricardo Barão (*top*), and Dr Phoonsuk Limraksasin with Prof Hiroshi Egusa (*bottom*).

meeting in Boston (July 21–24, 2021), and the winners will be announced at the Prosthodontics Group Business Meeting and thereafter published in the respective IJP 2021 issue.

We wish all the new investigators good luck with their submissions and look forward to publishing the winners again next year in the IJP!

On behalf of the entire Editorial Board team,

Irena Sailer, Editor-in-Chief Stephen Rosenstiel, Frechette Award Chair, IADR Prosthodontics Group