

Winners of the 2023 IADR Awards



Fig 1 (*left to right*) Dr Stephen F. Rosenstiel, Frechette Coordinator IADR Prosthodontics Group; Dr Lauren Mistretta, Stony Brook School of Dental Medicine, Stony Brook, New York, USA, Frechette Award Finalist; Dr Olivieri, Frechette Award Winner; Dr Namano, Frechette Award Winner; Dr Koki Otake, Tohoku University Graduate School of Dentistry, Sendai, Japan, Frechette Award Finalist; and Dr Kenneth Kurtz, President of the IADR Prosthodontics Group.

The winners of the 2023 Frechette Awards were recently presented at the International Association for Dental Research (IADR) annual meeting in Bogotá, Colombia. The Frechette is the annual research competition for new investigators sponsored by the Prosthodontics Group of the IADR and honoring the memory of Arthur R. Frechette, who served as Secretary-Treasurer of the IADR from 1968 to 1977. The winners were Dr Quentin Olivieri, Division of Gerontology and Removable Prosthodontics, University of Geneva, Geneva, Switzerland, for "Three Tests for the Preferred Chewing Side: A Pilot Study," and Dr Sahaprom Namano, Gerodontology and Oral Rehabilitation, Tokyo Medical and Dental University, Tokyo, Japan, for "Dimensional Changes During Post-Polymerization Conditions According to Support Structure Design" (Fig 1). In addition to the plaques, Drs Olivieri and Namano each received a check for \$1,000 USD thanks to the generous support of the Whip Mix Corporation.

The judges for the 2023 Frechette Award competition were officers and past presidents of the IADR Prosthodontics Group Dr David Bartlett, Dr Lindsay Richards, and Dr Angus Walls.

New investigators in prosthodontics are encouraged to apply for one of two 2024 Arthur R. Frechette Research Awards in Prosthodontics. Each award recognizes original research by new investigators and is sponsored by the Prosthodontics Group of the IADR and supported by the Whip Mix Corporation. One award is for prosthodontic research undertaken with a materials science– or bioengineering-oriented protocol, and the other is for prosthodontic research undertaken with a biologic science and tissue engineering–oriented protocol. Researchers carrying out original research are eligible for the Frechette Award if they have been the primary author of no more than three articles published in refereed dental journals. Each award will carry a cash prize of \$1,500 USD.

Research submitted for the IADR meeting in New Orleans, Louisiana is eligible for consideration for the Frechette Award, provided it has not been published elsewhere or will not be under consideration for another award. Abstracts must be submitted to the Prosthodontics Group of the

doi: 10.11607/ijp.2023.4.e



Fig 2 (*left to right*) Dr Manabu Kanazawa Pre-Prosthetic Regenerative Science Award Coordinator, Dr Estevam Bonfante representing the second-place winner Dr Bergamo, Dr Benalcázar Jalkh, and Dr Kenneth Kurtz, President of the IADR Prosthodontics Group.



Fig 3 *(left to right)* Dr Frauke Müller Neal, Garrett Award Coordinator, Dr Rodrigues, Neal Garrett Award Winner, and Dr Kenneth Kurtz, President of the IADR Prosthodontics Group.

IADR by the IADR deadline with the appropriate boxes on the online submission checked.

The abstracts will be judged for (1) originality and scientific design of the investigation, (2) suitability of the methods of analysis, and (3) scientific value of the work. Selected finalists will be judged at the 2024 IADR meeting in New Orleans (March 13 to 16, 2024), and the winner will be announced at the Prosthodontics Group Business Meeting.

The 2023 Pre-Prosthetic Regenerative Science Award for New Investigators was awarded at the recent IADR annual meeting in Bogotá, Colombia. The award recognizes original research by new investigators in the multidisciplinary field of preprosthetic or prosthodontics-related regenerative science, including, but not limited to, tissue engineering; bone, tooth, and soft-tissue regenerative sciences; graft materials research; maxillofacial reconstructive biology and physiology; and implant biologic research. The awards are cosponsored by the IADR Prosthodontics Research Group and Japan Prosthodontic Society. The first-place winner received \$1,000 USD, and the second-place winner received \$500 USD.

The 2023 first-place winner was Dr Ernesto Benalcázar Jalkh, Bauru School of Dentistry, University of São Paulo, São Paulo, Brazil, for "Initial Characterization of Sustainable Zirconia Recycled from Milling Waste," and the second-place winner was Dr Edmara T.P. Bergamo, New York University, New York, USA, for "3D Printed Alumina-Toughened Zirconia Ceramic Composite (ATZ) for Restorative Purposes" (Fig 2).

Research submitted for the 2024 IADR is eligible for consideration for the award. Finalists for the award will be selected from the abstracts accepted for the General Session and asked to submit a five-page extended abstract in order to compete, under the condition that the finalist meets the eligibility. The finalists for the Frechette Competition will be excluded from the pool of the Pre-Prosthetic Regenerative Science Award finalists, whereas the applicants for the Frechette Competition who are not selected as finalists will be considered. The extended abstracts will be judged for the originality and scientific design of the research and the scientific merit.

The 2023 Neal Garrett Award for Clinically Focused and Patient Centered Research was awarded to Dr Anisha Rodrigues, Faculty of Dental Medicine and Oral Health Sciences, McGill University, Montreal, Canada, for her research "Patient-Reported Outcomes with Immediately Loaded Zygomatic-Implant Rehabilitation: A Practice-Based Study."

The award recognizes clinically focused and patientcentered original research. The award of \$1,000 USD is cosponsored by the IADR Prosthodontics Research Group and funded by a generous bursary to the group from Future Leaders in Prosthodontics (fLiP). The award recognizes the lifetime work of Dr Neal Garrett and matches his efforts in patient-centered care (Fig 3). In addition to the plaque, Dr Rodrigues received a check for \$1,000 USD.

Researchers are encouraged to apply for the next Neal Garrett Award to be presented at the 102nd IADR meeting in New Orleans in March 2024. The abstract must be submitted to the Prosthodontics Research Group Poster Session of the IADR General Session, and the research presented must not have been published or considered for publication prior to the date of abstract submission. Researchers carrying out original research are eligible for the award if they have been the primary author of no more than three articles published in refereed scientific journals.

Stephen F. Rosenstiel, BDS, MSD. Frechette Award Chair, IADR Prosthodontics Group

D.F. Rosenstel