## **GUEST EDITORIAL**



The 2024 International Association for Dental Research (IADR) Awards: A Unique Opportunity for Researchers in Prosthodontics



**Fig 1** The individuals pictured are *(left to right)* Dr Edmond Pow, President IADR Prosthodontic Group; Dr Gilan Youssef Altonbary, Neal Garrett Award winner; Dr Yuhui Zhu, Frechette Award finalist; Dr Roubing Ha, Frechette Award finalist; Dr Quang Van Nguyen, Frechette Award winner; Dr Estevam Augusto Bonfante, Pre-Prosthetic Regenerative Science Award second-place winner; Dr Hiskell Francine Fernandes e Oliveira, Frechette Award finalist; Dr Satomi Mori, Pre-Prosthetic Regenerative Science Award first-place winner; Dr Kenneth Kurtz, Past-President IADR Prosthodontic Group.

he winners of the 2024 Frechette Awards were recently presented at the International Association for Dental Research annual meeting in New Orleans, Louisiana (Fig 1). The Frechette is the annual research competition for new investigators sponsored by the Prosthodontics Group of the International Association for Dental Research honoring the memory of Arthur R. Frechette, who served as Secretary-Treasurer of the IADR from 1968 to 1977. The winners were Dr Quang Van Nguyen, Niigata University, Japan for "Enhancing Bone Regeneration by Redox Control: An In Vivo Study" and Dr Edoardo Mancuso, University of Bologna, Italy for "Effects of Preparation Designs on the Adaptation of Overlay Restorations." In addition to plaques, Drs Nguyen and Mancuso each received a check for \$1,500 (Fig 2). The judges for the 2024 Frechette Award competition were officers and past presidents of the IADR Prosthodontics Group.

New investigators in prosthodontics are encouraged to apply for one of two 2025 Arthur R. Frechette Research Awards in Prosthodontics. Each award recognizes original research by new investigators and is sponsored by the Prosthodontics Group of the IADR and supported by the Whip Mix Corporation. One award is for prosthodontic research undertaken with a materials science or bioengineering oriented protocol, and the other is for prosthodontic research undertaken with a biologic sciences and tissue engineering oriented protocol. Researchers carrying out original research are eligible for the Frechette Award if they have been the primary author of no more than three articles published in refereed dental journals.

Research submitted for the IADR meeting in Barcelona, Spain, is eligible for consideration for the Frechette Award, provided it has not been published elsewhere or will not be under consideration for another award. Abstracts must be submitted to the Prosthodontics Group of the IADR by

doi: 10.11607/ijp.2024.3.e



**Fig 2** The individuals pictured are *(left to right)* Dr Edmond Pow, President IADR Prosthodontic Group; Dr Edoardo Mancuso, Frechette Award winner; Dr Kenneth Kurtz, Past-President IADR Prosthodontic Group.

the IADR deadline with the appropriate boxes on the on-line submission checked.

The abstracts will be judged for (1) originality and scientific design of the investigation, (2) suitability of the methods of analysis, and (3) scientific value of the work. Selected finalists will be judged at the 2025 IADR meeting in Barcelona (June 25 to 28, 2025), and the winner will be announced at the Prosthodontics Group Business Meeting.

The 2024 Pre-Prosthetic Regenerative Science Award for New Investigators was awarded at the recent International Association for Dental Research annual meeting in New Orleans, Louisiana. The award recognizes original research by new investigators in the multidisciplinary field of preprosthetic or prosthodontics-related regenerative science including, but not limited to, tissue engineering; bone, tooth, and soft-tissue regenerative sciences; graft materials research; maxillofacial reconstructive biology and physiology; and implant biologic research. The awards are cosponsored by the IADR Prosthodontics Research Group and Japan Prosthodontic Society. The first-place winner received \$1,000, and the second-place winner received \$500. The 2024 first-place winner was Dr Satomi Mori of the Tohoku University Graduate School of Dentistry for "Lyophilized bone graft material generated from iPSCs"; and the second-place winner was Dr Estevam Augusto Bonfante of the University of Sao Paulo for "Gradual Glass-Infiltration Of Ultra-Translucent Zirconia: Microstructural, Mechanical And Optical Characterization."

Research submitted for the 2025 IADR is eligible for consideration for the award. Finalists for the award will be selected from the abstracts accepted for the general session and requested to submit a five-page extended abstract to compete, under the condition that the finalist meets the eligibility. The finalists for the Frechette Competition will be excluded from the pool of the Pre-Prosthetic Regenerative Science Award finalists, whereas the applicants for the Frechette Competition who are not selected as its finalist will be considered. The extended abstracts will be judged for the originality and scientific design of the research and the scientific merit.

The 2024 Neal Garrett Award for Clinically Focused and Patient Centered Research was awarded to Dr Gilan Youssef Altonbary for her research on "Biteforce and chewing efficiency of CAD/CAM PEEK versus PMMA implant-overdenture."

The award recognizes clinically focused and patientcentered original research. The award of \$1,000 is cosponsored by the IADR Prosthodontics Research Group and funded by a generous bursary to the group from Future Leaders in Prosthodontics (FLiP). The award recognizes the lifetime work of Dr Neal Garrett and matches his efforts in patient centered care.

Researchers are encouraged to apply for the next Neal Garrett Award to be presented at the 103rd IADR meeting in Barcelona, Spain, in 2025. The abstract must be submitted to the Prosthodontics Research Group Poster Session of the IADR General Session, and the research presented must not have been published or considered for publication prior to the date of abstract submission. Researchers carrying out original research are eligible for the award if they have been the primary author of no more than three articles published in refereed scientific journals.

Yours sincerely,

D. f. Kosenstiel

Stephen F. Rosenstiel, BDS, MSD, Professor Emeritus Division of Restorative and Prosthetic Dentistry The Ohio State University Columbus, Ohio, USA